It turns out…

that the flaw in my “write about everything I read” plan is that when I’m actually writing my dissertation (or even when I’m sitting near my laptop and thinking guiltily about how I ought to be actually writing my dissertation), I’m not terribly inclined to spend extra time with my computer. Writing about things I read, however, has been incredibly useful in maintaining the critical thought process in the periods where dissertation-writing isn’t actively happening (and makes a nice change from standing in front of the library photocopier, making endless piles of articles to read someday). A tiny mountain of books to be written about is forming on my desk: just as soon as this chapter on 17th-century whore shaming is concluded.

Soon, soon.

29 June 2013 ~ Hamilton

Leave a Reply

