Currently…

Most of my possessions are residing in my new home . A  third of the boxes are unpacked even.  I need to acquire about two more shelves to accommodate most of my books (the rest I plan to place in strategic piles around the place, build a fort with, and maybe  construct some book mobiles).  All my furniture is installed, so I can now sit/nap/read upon my chair/couch/bed/table (rather than the floor).  I can also shower, control the amount of light that comes through the windows (blinds are under-appreciated furnishings, I’ve discovered), arrange the magnets on my fridge into absurd poetry, make coffee (a somewhat more lengthy process without a proper kettle, but I make do), and microwave and eat soup (I really do need to remember to bring up some utensils).

All that’s lacking is food, my Jonson plays and David Attenborough dvds, and Hero and Leander.  They’ll be moving up with me in about a week and a half, after I finish some work and visit with some decent people (whom I’ll be sad to leave). Then a few last days of reading, preparing for thesis writing, reshelving books, and generally feeling sleepless before my first class on the 16th.

Thesis preparation goes well (much thanks to the several hours without power this week that ensured I had no alternative but to sit down and think about the thing).  I feel fairly confident that I can justify why I want use Lacanian/post-Lacanian theory for my work. Lacan, Irigaray, and Butler are each concerned with the way desire, performance, and the (audience’s) gaze interact to construct the way genders, communities, and economies (I want to look at how Jonson represents female communities/economies in his works).  A number of the problems Irigaray locates in both psychoanalysis and classical literature — women failing to be represented on their own terms, rather than as “not men,” the way Oedipal narratives place women in positions where they compete rather than identify with, other women — also exist on the early modern stage.  (Jonsonian comedy, though, especially as it frequently avoids marriage as its subject/means of conflict resolution, also resists the Oedipal narrative.)  I’m currently considering dividing chapters and selecting my plays using a trajectory of Freud, Lacan, and Butler/Irigaray’s representations of women.

Lots to think about.

24 August 2009 ~ St. Catharines

Leave a Reply

