Finally.

I’ve finished Irigaray’s Speculum. I can understand how the work might have “provoked the wrath of the Lacanian faction,” as the book jacket informs me.  Irigaray explodes three structures of western thought (Platonism, Christianity, and psychoanalysis) accusing them each of the same logical inconsistencies and of ultimately committing the same crime of deliberately forgetting (to Irigaray, an act synonymous with murder) the female/(m)other/maternal body. And she does so with irreverent intelligence. Speculum is one of the most fun theoretical texts I’ve read, and I look forward to a rereading (and writing on) of the work.

But before that, some Lacan.

15 August 2009 ~ St. Catharines.

4 thoughts on “Finally.

  1. I wish I had something clever and intelligent to say here but you are light years ahead of me when it comes to theoretical discussion, most especially when it relates to Lacanian analysis. I like Freud though, he has a funny mustache.

    Oh no, I think I’ve demonstrated my inability to take these works seriously, there goes any credibility I once might have had.

Leave a Reply

