Unfinished novels.

I have an on-again, off-again relationship with Dan Simmons.  Six months ago I read about 100 pages of The Terror, his “historical thriller” about Franklin’s lost expedition.  It’s a fascinating book — but not fascinating enough; I paused the reading about five and a half months ago, and haven’t yet resumed.

Earlier this week, Gaurav bought me a copy of Drood, Simmons’s newest book (unsurprisingly, about Dickens’s final years).   It’s narrated by Wilkie Collins, and I’m still enjoying it.  At 771 pages, though, and the end of reading week approaching, my best intentions to finish the novel are highly suspect.  I have this strange love for Dickens’s Edwin Drood (and the transvestite, meta-theatrical musical of the same name); this will hopefully sustain my interest: though I think I bought The Terror on the premise that it was channeling my beloved Moby Dick.

I’m doomed.

19 February 2009 ~ St. Catharines

Leave a Reply

